Panthers Cam Newton Named Ed Block Award Winner

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Panthers quarterback Cam Newton has been named the Carolina Panthers 2015 Ed Block Courage Award winner.

Panthers 1-17-16-12

The award honors one player from each NFL team that shows courage on and off the field, according to a news release from the Panthers.

Newton was selected to receive the award after a vote by his teammates.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named after Ed Block, a head athletic trainer for the Baltimore Colts.  He is known as a pioneer in the field and a respected humanitarian.

Tightend Greg Olsen won the award for the Panthers last year.