Numerous South Carolina Cities/Counties Enact Face Mask Ordinances
The list of cities and counties now mandating face masks in South Carolina is growing every day. Most recently, the Atlantic Beach town council voted in favor of the ordinance. Residents will be required to wear the mask in certain public places with some exemptions. This includes “anyone who is unable to safely wear a face mask due to age, an underlying health condition or is unable to remove the mask without the assistance of others.” People with certain religious beliefs are also exempt. Non-compliance will result in a $25 fine. We will have a more detailed list of all participating cities and counties on our website after the show.
Here is the full list of cities/counties who have approved face mask ordinances in public places:
Myrtle Beach: went into effect at 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, July 2nd. Will remain until Labor Day, unless rescinded at an earlier date by the city council. A business could risk being labeled a public nuisance or have their license suspended or revoked if they fail to make their employees/other staff wear face masks.
North Myrtle Beach: went into effect at noon on Thursday, July 2nd and will last for 60 days. Non-compliance can result in a $25 fine. Any person or business that fails to comply can face a fine up to $100.
Horry County: went into effect on Friday, July 3rd and will last for 60 days unless rescinded earlier by the Horry County Council. First-time non-compliance can result in a $25 fine, a second offense will receive a $50 fine, and a $100 fine for the third.
Conway: went into effect at 8 p.m. yesterday, Monday, July 6th. It will expire at 9 a.m. August 4th unless the city council otherwise determines it needs to be extended, changed or expired. Non-compliance will result in a fine up to $25.
Atlantic Beach: went into effect at noon on today, July 7th. It will expire after 60 days, unless it is terminated before then. Non-compliance by an individual could result in a $25 fine. Non-compliance by an business could result in a $100 fine.
Georgetown County: went into effect at 12 a.m. on Friday, July 3rd. It will last 60 days unless terminated sooner by Georgetown County Council. Any individual who fails to comply could be fined $25. A businesses with repeated violations could be declared a public nuisance by the county.
Georgetown: went into effect at 9 a.m. Friday, July 3rd and will last for 60 days, unless council extends or rescinds it before then. Any individual or business violating the ordinance can face a fine a fine of up to $50. Repeated offenses by a business could have them labeled a public nuisance. Their business license could also be suspended or revoked.
Florence: proclamation went into effect 12:01 a.m. yesterday, Monday, July 6th. Can be ratified or revoked by the full city council at the next meeting, Monday, July 13. Non-compliance can result in a $25 fine.
Lake City: went into effect at 6 a.m. Friday, July 3rd and will last for 60 days unless city leaders terminate the ordinance before then. As of now, there is no penalty for non-compliance.
Marion: unanimously approved resolution in a special meeting on yesterday, Monday, July 6th that encourages residents to wear a face mask and social distance when out in certain public places/situations.
Surfside Beach: a resolution was passed yesterday encouraging the use of face masks in certain public places, but council members decided not to make it a mandate.