Charleston County Passes Mask Mandate
The Charleston City Council passed a resolution requiring people to wear masks in public. The new mandate will take effect July 1st and remain for 60 days. First time offenders will be warned and repeat offenders will be subject to a $50 fine. This comes as six states are warning their residents about visits to Myrtle Beach. those include Kentucky, West Virginia, Ohio, New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. At least 72 confirmed cases in West Virginia are believed to be from the grand strand and 20 people from Ohio were infected on a high school trip to our shores. Earlier this week, United Airlines also announced a temporary suspension of services at MYR due to the pandemic.